Portal Home > Knowledgebase > Articles Database > Warning Eleven2.com hosting

Warning Eleven2.com hosting

Posted by donotuseme, 12-16-2012, 07:06 AM
I thought that I would try Eleven2.com hosting to see if they were better than current Hosting company. I signed up for 1 month Reseller Hosting to try them. I changed a few domain names to their name servers then found that on CPanel they did NOT allow users to have a "catch all" email address . I queried this with them as I need catch all, they then said that they would change my Server to allow catch all. I thanked them and went ahead made all changes, configurations etc etc. I then.luckily, sent myself a few test emails to the domains and noted that they did NOT arrive. I then 3 days later checked with Eleven2.com and was told "...sorry we have decided NOT to allow catch all..." . What a total bunch of useless Wankers they are. NOT a company I would want to trust any business to so have asked for money back. ELEVEN2.com avoid unless you like UNcertainty !!

Posted by Host4Geeks-Kushal, 12-16-2012, 07:31 AM
Well that is something in their user policy there is not much you can do about that. But catch all is something most hosts allow by default. Anyway's there are a lot of other hosts out their, just move.

Posted by donotuseme, 12-16-2012, 07:38 AM
Yes it may be in their conditions etc but I asked them and they said this. See below thread ; Hello , We shall enable this for you. Please hold on. ---- | Technical Support Engineer Eleven2.com: World-Class Hosting, Done Right! 1-866-ELEVEN2 THEN Hello This feature has been enabled on the server. | Technical Support Engineer Eleven2.com: World-Class Hosting, Done Right! 1-866-ELEVEN2 THEN (after I set up my domains and configured them,changed name servers etc I then 2 days later get; Hello , I am sorry for the confusion caused to you in this regard. The default/catch all account will not be enabled on our shared servers. - - Technical Support Engineer Eleven2.com: World-Class Hosting, Done Right! 1-866-ELEVEN2 THE END Anyway you are right move on to a decent webhosting company, and I shall do so now.

Posted by rv_irl, 12-16-2012, 07:43 AM
catch-all can be problematic depending on how you use it. Generally, some have it forwarded to another email address (such as gmail). When this is done, any and all email sent to any @yourdomain.com email address will be forward - this includes spam. For gmail (or other provider you use), they will interpret the spam as coming from your server (since your server is forwarding that email). This can quickly lead to a blacklisted IP address. Additionally, some will also manually mark some emails as spam, not knowing that the email they marked as spam was forwarded as a result of the catch-all setting to their email provider. Such issues can also happen with catch disabled but having it enabled means the volume and likely risk of the above happening is significantly increased.

Posted by Host4Geeks-Kushal, 12-16-2012, 07:43 AM
It was indeed a mistake on their part. If they wouldn't they should have let you know about it at the very first stage.

Posted by donotuseme, 12-16-2012, 07:49 AM
Thanks for that input. I was/am aware of these problems and would have used it very very carefully. In fact I use it to see what email addresses are active on "a" certain domain close to mine. Anyway noted thanks.

Posted by donotuseme, 12-16-2012, 07:52 AM
Yes agreed, if they had simply told me "no sorry we cannot allow this" then I would not have wasted my time changing name servers etc etc and put my business on line.Anyway lesson has been learnt and will be much more careful choosing hosting company in future.

Posted by GreenValueHostGM, 12-16-2012, 11:22 AM
I'm sorry to hear about your negative experience. Hopefully the new hosting company that you choose will be more suitable for you. I wish you the best of luck

Posted by Riyaz_Shaukatali, 12-16-2012, 01:32 PM
I have seen a few more unhappy threads about eleven2 recently. The issue here is not that they don't allow catch all email accounts. The issue is their own rep didn't know about their policies which is a concern. Wish you luck for future.

Posted by Nick H, 12-16-2012, 03:22 PM
Do you have a Ticket ID where you were given this misinformation? I'd like to take a look so we can prevent it happening in the future. I'm sorry that this one, ultimately very trivial, issue is causing you to "warn" others about our service, but I would like to resolve it.

Posted by Wullie, 12-16-2012, 03:45 PM
Personally I find it very arrogant that you would describe your tech giving false information as a "very trivial issue".

Posted by Nick H, 12-16-2012, 04:06 PM
Again, it appears there was a miscommunication of some sort, and I want to ensure that is corrected. However, the "catch-all" email feature is not a request we get on a regular basis, and this is the first complaint I've seen about it not being available since I've been working here. I agree that our tech giving incorrect information needs to be addressed, but the "catch-all" not being available is a fairly trivial issue. Regardless, I'd like to resolve this, and as soon as the OP identifies himself, I'd be glad to start looking into this. It's also worth noting that no member of management had this concern brought to their attention before the OP came posting on WHT. A simple request to escalate the ticket to a supervisor would have provided a much faster resolution to this problem. Unfortunately, since I don't know who the OP is, or what the circumstances are surrounding his issue, I can't look into it.

Posted by ~Lee~, 12-16-2012, 04:07 PM
Agreed, but they exude arrogance often I have seen.

Posted by anon-e-mouse, 12-16-2012, 04:16 PM
Please use http://www.webhostingtalk.com/report.php?p=8471891 to confirm you are hosted there.

Posted by Wullie, 12-16-2012, 04:25 PM
Seriously, if you want to make this look as if you care about your customers you really need to stop using the word "trivial" to describe this. Trivial means it is of little importance and who are you to decide that a catch-all is not important to this client? The client asked for it so they obviously wanted it, if nothing else surely the fact that they posted here shows they felt strongly about it.

Posted by Nick H, 12-16-2012, 04:29 PM
If this issue was of great importance to this client, there are many avenues he could have taken to get his issue resolved. He could have requested to speak to a supervisor. He could have emailed or called me directly (my info goes on EVERY ticket response made). Instead, a post was made on WHT offering no information to identify the customer or his ticket, which leads me to believe that the issue wasn't all that important to him either. If the OP wishes to resolve this matter, he needs to identify himself so that I can help him. Otherwise, I can't resolve an issue when I've been given no information as to who the customer is or what ticket/staff were involved, so that I can see the full circumstances of the issue and determine what went wrong.

Posted by Wullie, 12-16-2012, 04:41 PM
He got a response saying in no uncertain terms it would not be enabled. That to me sounds pretty final so why would he ask to speak to a supervisor? Should the tech not have checked with a supervisor before making such a concrete statement to a customer about something not being enabled, especially when it was already said that they could have it enabled? Personally I would have upped and left, I wouldn't have asked to speak to a supervisor. Why should the customer have to jump through hoops to get you to honour what they were already told was possible? As for no information to identify the customer, have you ever thought the reason for posting here wasn't to force your hand but instead they maybe already have something elsewhere and simply wanted to warn others about your techs incompetence? Just because a customer does not follow your predetermined course of action to deal with something does not mean the issue is trivial. All you have done here is try to belittle a customer making a genuine complaint about your service by telling them their issue is unimportant. Hardly great customer service, is it?

Posted by Nick H, 12-16-2012, 04:44 PM
I was able to find your ticket, and would like to now clear things up. You opened a ticket stating: You received a reply from our staff stating: You then replied: Our technician then replied: You then made 2 replies: That is when you received the replies you quoted. Only after you were told twice that we did not offer this did we say we would enable it. We did then enable it for you, but it was later decided by a Level 3 administrator that was done improperly and against our policy, and it was disabled. Our staff tried to explain this to you, and I'll quote some of your replies here. Our staff were 100% correct in their initial replies to you by telling you that we DO NOT offer this on our accounts. However, your assertion that we told you that we offer it and then told you we didn't isn't quite accurate. We did, in fact, tell you at least 2 times that we DO NOT offer it. I will speak to the technician involved that ended up enabling it in error (causing it to later be disabled), but you were not given false information. You were told that we do not offer it, and you then threatened to cancel to try and force us to change our policy. That said, I've received your cancellation request, and will get you refunded shortly.

Posted by Nick H, 12-16-2012, 04:46 PM
Please read my previous reply. Now that I was able to locate the account, and find the parts that were left out by the OP, I will address the situation. He was told TWICE that the feature was not available. Our staff member made an error in judgment by making an exception for this customer, which was later reversed by a higher level technician. That error in judgment is something that I will make sure to address. I apologize, again, for the confusion, but this customer was told upfront that we don't allow this feature, twice.

Posted by Wullie, 12-16-2012, 04:50 PM
What was said in the ticket is irrelevant to my comments and your replies. You did not have those facts in front of you when you posted your replies, so the content of the ticket had no influence on your replies. Maybe you should find the tickets first in the future before you tell people their issues are trivial. While the customer may have been wrong in the end, all I will remember about this thread is the arrogance of your replies.

Posted by ilovetheheat, 12-16-2012, 08:38 PM
IMHO Nick is doing a disservice to Eleven2 hosting in this thread. I'd avoid you guys simply because of your tone in this thread... Something I learned a while back in marketing class..... "Creative get's em.... Account services loses em..."

Posted by GreenValueHostGM, 12-16-2012, 10:41 PM
Trust me, if you think that Nick was displaying a tone, you should speak with their CEO Rodney. (Hint: We're lucky that Nick is handling this situation)

Was this answer helpful?

Add to Favourites Add to Favourites    Print this Article Print this Article

Also Read
Info about eleven2.com (Views: 374)
Reliable VPS Hosting? (Views: 392)