Portal Home > Knowledgebase > Articles Database > Disable user alert on machine shutdown - Server 2003


Disable user alert on machine shutdown - Server 2003




Posted by MGCJerry, 03-27-2010, 01:16 PM
I've recently acquired a new server with Server 2003 and after reloading windows on it, whenever I want to shutdown/restart the machine, it always says "There's a user logged on... blah blah". Only after dismissing this message the server will shutdown/restart. How can I stop this? I have already disabled the "shutdown event tracker" thing and I couldn't find anything else in the Group Policy Editor. Thanks in advance.

Posted by arun_kris, 04-20-2010, 04:26 AM
This is normal. This is happening because if any of RDP users already connected/disconnected to your server when you shutdown or restart it. If you find any active user sessions connected to you server(see task manager) and running any programs please have them save their datas before you hit shutdown/restart otherwise datas will be lost. Tip - Whenever you are finished working in your server make sure you 'logoff' your session instead of 'disconnect'. Thanks!



Was this answer helpful?

Add to Favourites Add to Favourites    Print this Article Print this Article

Also Read
PHP - HTML Email Send (Views: 652)